You are here

Five UW Researchers Named Inaugural Fellows of the American Astronomical Society

Story by
Russell Yost
February 2020
UW Physics Astronomy Building

Detail of UW's Physics Astronomy Building. Media credit: Rose Reyes

Five UW researchers have been named inaugural Fellows of the American Astronomical Society (AAS), the organization announced this week. The inaugural "Legacy Fellow" cohort includes 200 scientists from around the world who have been recognized for past awards, research achievements, teaching and service to AAS.

The UW's fellows from the Department of Astronomy include Suzanne Hawley, who also serves as divisional dean of the Natural Sciences, Bruce Balick, Zeljko Ivezic, Woody Sullivan, and George Wallerstein

According to AAS, the Fellows program was established in 2019 "to confer recognition upon AAS members for achievement and extraordinary service to the field of astronomy and the American Astronomical Society. AAS Fellows are recognized for their contributions toward the AAS mission of enhancing and sharing humanity's scientific understanding of the universe.”

A complete list of fellows is listed on the AAS website.